sorry not a Calibra but this is my saab powered conversion!

Show off your Projects here, the link for the garage is at the top of the page for showcasing your car

sorry not a Calibra but this is my saab powered conversion!

by rich_DTM » Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:42 pm

i have posted on a few other sites but thort some of you guys may be interested in a read
i'll just copy and paste

right despite the snow i began my first engine conversion today!

after alot of research and reading astra-nige's project i desided to go down the saab turbo route! as i'm a mechanic by trade i will be doing the work myself and a fellow tech at work was a saab master tech so he has kindly given me the saab 900 engine electric book with all diagrams and pin locations which will make live a lot easier!

so lets start with a picture of my 1991 Astra GSI!

i3dxu1.jpg
i3dxu1.jpg (32.73 KiB) Viewed 6675 times

jhtpn6.jpg
jhtpn6.jpg (28.96 KiB) Viewed 6675 times

i bought it back in 2005 and always wanted to C20let her so bought a calibra LE turbo in 2008 but decided to keep the calibra instead but couldnt bring my self to sell the gsi so it was stored down my dads for a year untill my partner needed a car as she had passed her driving test so she was going to have the gsi untill i decided to break the calibra due to excessive rot! so instead of sticking the LET in i wanted to go down the saab route! so picked up a Saab 900 se turbo with rear end damage off ebay for £200

23lktx2.jpg
23lktx2.jpg (26.35 KiB) Viewed 6675 times

first job of the day was to get the calibras subframe on so i could move it off the tarmac so i could begin removing the saabs engine!
so subframe back on the calibra sporting some lovely saab alloys

25uitrr.jpg
25uitrr.jpg (28.12 KiB) Viewed 6675 times