single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

Any electrical issues

single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Richiem » Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:24 pm

Seems i busted my single wire temp switch on the transfer box the other day and although i repaired it , its not working!
Need another if anyone out there has one around them . I know there not common anymore but it means my 4x4 is over unless i find one and probably the end of my car if im tbh.
Cheers Rich
User avatar
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:08 am
Location: essex

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Callyman » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:19 pm

Did you get the 4x4 ecu read?
Andy - The Membership Guy
Details on how to join the club---Click me
Ceramic Blue 4x4 Turbo
Best Engine bay VBOA 2010, 2013.
Best in show VBOA 2012.
Best Ice VBOA 2014, 2015.
Chairman's Choice PVS 2016.
Best Presented VBOA 2017.
My Garage
User avatar
Membership Secretary
Membership Secretary
 
Posts: 3869
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Location: Andover, Hampshire

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Richiem » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:27 pm

No idea how to do it tbh Andy! Had a right good chat with Brian who use to work at vts , He suggested either brake lights not working or temp switch failed ( as everything else was new ) Told him that my switch cable snapped when i dropped the engine and he reckons they are not repairable ( not a simple single wire as it seems but theres small earth bond in there also that doesnt fix)
Hes gonna look around his shed for me to see if he has another cable ..
Got to love that fella . Always got time to answer the phone and help when your stuck even tho hes retired)
If he aint got one then im right stuck for a fix..
System isnt charging and draining fluid from the res so that or its a busted solenoid . Dont see why that would suddenly fail but i do now the wire on the sensor snapped so seems most likely the problem.
User avatar
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:08 am
Location: essex

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by rich30mex » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:32 pm

I would still run the test as you have had it all in a million bits
Calibra l,e number 4
Project it's a secret
Best engine bay 2011
Best engine bay 2014
Best in show 2016
Treasures cup 2016
best engine bay 2017


Have car have cloth will clean need life
User avatar
Events Coordinator
Events Coordinator
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:19 am
Location: a hovel

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:53 pm

Test can't be done on Richie's car. I looked when it was here the other day
He doesn't have pin J neither did my old turbo

Image
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Callyman » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:57 pm

Will it plug directly into 4x4 ecu.?
Andy - The Membership Guy
Details on how to join the club---Click me
Ceramic Blue 4x4 Turbo
Best Engine bay VBOA 2010, 2013.
Best in show VBOA 2012.
Best Ice VBOA 2014, 2015.
Chairman's Choice PVS 2016.
Best Presented VBOA 2017.
My Garage
User avatar
Membership Secretary
Membership Secretary
 
Posts: 3869
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Location: Andover, Hampshire

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:08 pm

Did you follow the rest of the fault testing we where doing rich?
We couldn't get a sound from solenoid yesterday with the fused wire to the dis connector! Did you test your other solenoid like I suggested??
Do you read on through the testing procedure??
We had a resistance value from the temp sensor to ground which from the manuel indicated it was connected and registering a value? Which should Chang with temp (but we didn't get round to that)
Dunno this guy who's said its F****d. Our test shows a connection from connector to ground. But your soilinoid didn't work!!
And the testing procedure went on. But we just ran out of time.

!!??
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:15 pm

callyman wrote:Will it plug directly into 4x4 ecu.?



Don't know if it was just a change in loom wiring or the 4x4 unit itself.

Saying that it does say (in pic I posted)
After 1994 it can only be serched with tech1
So it must still be able to read them out. Just not with bent wire.
Think DanSE4 has a tech1

Think there is more that can be done of tested in mean while tbh
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:19 pm

This is testing I was following.
(For single wire)

http://www.cav16.co.uk/transfer/
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:07 am


We did that and got a resistance value. Apparently it changes resistance with temp change. But we didn't run car and do a second test.

The fact we got a reading says to me the cable is working. !?

Solenoid wasn't
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Callyman » Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:08 am

Could be pressure switch on the solenoid playing up? are both wires connected to it?
Andy - The Membership Guy
Details on how to join the club---Click me
Ceramic Blue 4x4 Turbo
Best Engine bay VBOA 2010, 2013.
Best in show VBOA 2012.
Best Ice VBOA 2014, 2015.
Chairman's Choice PVS 2016.
Best Presented VBOA 2017.
My Garage
User avatar
Membership Secretary
Membership Secretary
 
Posts: 3869
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Location: Andover, Hampshire

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:25 am

callyman wrote:Could be pressure switch on the solenoid playing up? are both wires connected to it?


Yes that's the one we tested and didn't make a noise.

So proved to not be working.
Rich said he had a spare at home.
Suggested he fit it and do same test again.
Don't know if he has or not?
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:34 am

This is going in circles :doh:
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:16 pm

Lol, that one hadn't been mentioned
But yes rich did the bleeding befor coming to mine.
I also did bleeding again myself (yes with the 3mm grub screw on block)
Even lifted front so wheels could go from lock to lock as it advises.

He also isn't getting any noise from whoosh test. And when the car is started the accumulator doesn't do that shudder thing when it charges itself.
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Re: single wire temp switch on the transfer box needed

by Martin.p » Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:19 pm



Martin.p wrote:

We did that and got a resistance value. Apparently it changes resistance with temp change. But we didn't run car and do a second test.

The fact we got a reading says to me the cable is working. !?

Solenoid wasn't
User avatar
ClubCalibra.net
ClubCalibra.net
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

Next

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest